Pepe and first turtle and meeting UrKo my chess friend: Chapter 2

Chapter 2

Pepe beach and first turtle and meeting UrKo my new chess friend

turn off background music if you don’t want to listen to it

Saturday 24 July was a perfect day on the reef in front of our house Pepe. It was very still, and at low tide at sunset I could take some very nice pictures

27 July, snorkeling, plenty of fish and a turtle….

I met Ur Ko and managed to get a good chess set, board and clock from a local guy Gerard…… who’s chess club in Avarua does not come together because of covid (?) Later I understood more about the situation. Gerard and his wife Lizzie….. tried to set up a chess club by contacting schools and having chess meetings trying to get kids interested. Gerard bought some 7 chess sets, silicon board, chess set and clock and I bought one of them. Initially I was going to borrow it and use it to play with UrKo. After meeting UrKo for the first time at the Rarotongan to play our first game, I realised that his chess set was so small that playing a game would basically not be possible. Then I tried to get in touch with the local chessclub and through someone, I got in touch with Gerard. They probably normally have a lot of tourists in Rarotonga who might play chess when here ? Now that the kids holidays are finished, it’s indeed not very busy here. But after talking to Gerard it was clear that there is not much interest, but Gerard wants to try again with some sponsorship ? After a few meetings with UrKo and playing 6 thirty minute games the score is Bob – UrKo 4-2. I asked Gerard to play some games as well, but he was to preoccupied at the time. We started playing a few weeks later and Lindsay met Gerard and Lizzie and we became good friends !

I

One thought on “Pepe and first turtle and meeting UrKo my chess friend: Chapter 2

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.